Understanding Allergens

Whether you‘re a parent, living on your own, young or old - we know one of your biggest priorities is great tasting food that is safe to eat.  This means food made from quality ingredients and labeled accurately with all the information you need to make informed food choices.  As Canada’s largest food manufacturer, our top priorities are the same as yours – great tasting, quality foods that are made with rigorous safety standards in place.  This includes clear labeling of allergens on pack, so you know exactly what's in every product you bring home to your family.

Allergens Labeled in Canada

We know there are many allergies out there. Health Canada has identified the following as priority allergens in Canada: 

  • Tree Nuts: Almond, Brazil nut, cashew, hazelnut, macadamia nut, pecan, pine nut, pistachio or walnut
  • Peanut
  • Sesame seed
  • Wheat
  • Egg
  • Milk
  • Soy including Soybean
  • Crustacean (such as lobster, shrimp, crab) Shellfish (such as oysters, clams, mussels)
  • Fish (such as salmon, trout or sole)
  • Mustard

Additionally, Health Canada recognizes that sulphites and sources of gluten (wheat, rye, barley and oats) may cause allergy-like reactions or intolerance in some individuals.

What To Look For On Food Labels

Kraft Canada ensures that any priority allergens, sulphites and gluten sources that are present in the formula, are listed in the ingredient line. In addition, many products have a separate CONTAINS statement immediately following the ingredient line restating priority allergen(s), sulphites and gluten sources present in the product. Our product formulas do change, so it is important that you read the label every time to ensure that a product is right for you.

We take thousands of allergy-related calls and emails each year and the following two top the list of consumer concerns.


Get the Scoop on Peanut Allergies by clicking on the link.


Individuals with Celiac Disease or gluten intolerance will need to avoid wheat, rye, barley and oats. Always check the label for these ingredients. Other helpful information about Celiac Disease and the gluten free diet is available through the Canadian Celiac Association at www.celiac.ca.  

Alternative grains which do not contain gluten are corn, rice, quinoa, and millet. 

More information regarding food allergens is available from Health Canada at http://www.healthycanadians.gc.ca/init/kids-enfants/food-aliment/labelling-etiquetage/allerg/index-eng.php.

The content of this document is for informational purposes only. The content is not intended to be a substitute for professional medical advice, diagnosis, or treatment. Always seek the advice of your physician or other qualified health care provider with any questions you may have regarding a medical condition.

If you have a medical emergency, do not rely on this content to treat your condition. Call your doctor or 911 immediately.